PMA Consulting, LLC

2010 National Philanthropy Day Award Honorees

The Charlotte Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) has announced the honorees selected for the 2010 National Philanthropy Day Awards. This year marks the 19th annual luncheon honoring pacesetters in philanthropy in the Carolinas.

2010 Honorees

Outstanding Champion of Diversity Norberto Sanchez
Outstanding Philanthropist William H. Williamson III
Outstanding Emerging Philanthropist Marjorie Bray
Outstanding Philanthropic Small Business Loftin & Company Printers
Outstanding Legacy James Douglas Zeller (posthumously)
Outstanding Student Philanthropy (2) Playing for Others and Chantal Saxon
Outstanding Philanthropic Organization Susan G. Komen For the Cure – Charlotte
Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Ruth Shaw
Outstanding Professional Fundraising Executive Kristin Hills Bradberry

Award winners were selected by a community-based committee of both community leaders and previous award winners. Committee members making the selections included:

  • Vicky Barton (2008 Outstanding Philanthropic Small Business – Edifice, Inc.)
  • Cliff Cameron (2007 Outstanding Philanthropist), Samara Foxx (at-large)
  • Marc Gustafson (2009 Outstanding Emerging Philanthropist)
  • Bart Landess (2007 Outstanding Professional Fundraising Executive)
  • Elaine Lyerly (2009 Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser)
  • Alisa McDonald (1990 Outstanding Philanthropic Organization-Duke Energy)
  • Deborah Whitfield (2009 Outstanding Champion of Diversity)

“We were thrilled to take National Philanthropy Day awards selection to new heights this year by assembling this community committee,” says Sharon Harrington, an AFP board member and chair of the 2010 awards luncheon. “With a strong pool of nominations, it was rewarding to hear the thoughtfulness and scrutiny that went into choosing this year’s honorees.”

The 19th Annual National Philanthropy Day Awards luncheon will be on Wednesday, November 10, 2010, from 11:15 a.m. – 1 p.m. at the Ritz-Carlton in uptown Charlotte. Tables of eight may be underwritten for $350 or individual tickets are $40. For more information about sponsorship opportunities, visit or contact Sharon Harrington at 704-687-0082 or

About the Association of Fundraising Professionals

AFP, an association of professionals throughout the world, advances philanthropy by enabling people and organizations to practice ethical and effective fundraising. The core activities through which AFP fulfills this mission include education, training, mentoring, research, credentialing and advocacy.